test

The World Teachers’ Day live stream will start on Oct. 5th at 9AM Kuala Lumpur time and run for 24 hours, once around the world. You can see the overall streaming time here; please check your regional section to find local times. A detailed programme will be available soon!

Welcome to #5octLive

06.30 am New Delhi

08.00 am Jakarta

09.00 am Kuala Lumpur/Manila

10.00 am Tokyo

11.00 am Sydney

02.00 pm Wellington

Welcome to #5octLive

Susan Hopgood | President, Education International

David Edwards | General Secretary, Education International

06.40 – 07.00 am New Delhi

08.10 – 08.30 am Jakarta

09.10 – 09.30 am Kuala Lumpur/Manila

10.10 – 10.30 am Tokyo

11.10 – 11.30 am Sydney

02.10 – 02.30 pm Wellington

Opening: Celebrating the teachers of the world

  • Audrey Azoulay | Director-General, UNESCO
  • Henrietta Fore | Executive Director, UNICEF
  • Guy Ryder | Director General, International Labour Organization
  • Amina Mohammed | Deputy Secretary-General, United Nations
  • Julia Gillard | Board Chair, Global Partnership for Education
  • Dr Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus | Director-General, World Health Organization

Asia Pacific Teachers Take the Lead

07.00 – 07.20 am New Delhi

08.30 – 08.50 am Jakarta

09.30 – 09.50 am Kuala Lumpur

10.30 – 10.50 am Tokyo

11.30 – 11.50 am Sydney

02.30 – 02.50 pm Wellington

Welcome to Asia Pacific

  • Susan Hopgood | Regional Moderator 
  • Masaki Okajima | Chairperson, Education International Asia-Pacific Regional Committee | Japan Teachers’ Union

07.20 – 07.30 am New Delhi

08.50 – 09.00 am Jakarta

09.50 – 10.00 am Kuala Lumpur

10.50 – 11.00 am Tokyo

11.50 – 12.00 am Sydney

02.50 – 03.00 pm Wellington

Celebrating teachers

  • Jacinda Ardern | Prime Minister of New Zealand
  • Dr. Tsai Ing-wen | President of Taiwan
  • Aoyagi Shigeru | Director, UNESCO Bangkok

07.30 – 07.50 am New Delhi

09.00 – 09.20 am Jakarta

10.00 – 10.20 am Kuala Lumpur

11.00 – 11.20 am Tokyo

12.00 – 12.20 am Sydney

03.00 – 03.20 pm Wellington

Covid-19, Teaching and the Bigger Picture 

  • Pasi Sahlberg | Professor of Education Policy, UNSW Sydney, Australia
  • Angelo Gavrielatos | President, New South Wales Teachers Federation, Australia

07.50 – 08.20 am New Delhi

09.20 – 09.50 am Jakarta

10.20 – 10.50 am Kuala Lumpur

11.20 – 11.50 am Tokyo

12.20 – 12.50 am Sydney

03.20 – 03.50 pm Wellington

Australian Teacher Unions and Education Policies | Panel Discussion

  • Correna Haythorpe | Federal President, Australian Education Union
  • Meredith Peace | Victoria Branch President, Australian Education Union
  • Susan Hopgood | Federal Secretary, Australian Education Union | President, Education International

08.20 – 08.35 am New Delhi

09.50 – 10.05 am Jakarta

10.50 – 11.05 am Kuala Lumpur

11.50 – 12.05 am Tokyo

12.50 -1.05 pm Sydney

03.50 – 04.05 pm Wellington

In the Teachers’ Lounge

  • Kailash Satyarthi | Nobel Peace Prize Laureate, Global March Against Child Labour in conversation with
  • Susan Hopgood | President, Education International
  • David Edwards | General Secretary, Education International

08.40 – 09.20 am New Delhi

10.10 – 10.50 am Jakarta

11.10 – 11.50 am Kuala Lumpur

12.10 – 12.50 am Tokyo 

01.10 – 01.50 pm Sydney

04.10 – 04.50 pm Wellington

Teacher and Union Voices 

09.20 – 10.05 am New Delhi

10.50 – 11.35 am Jakarta

11.50 – 12.35 pm Kuala Lumpur

12.50 – 01.35 pm Tokyo

01.50 – 02.35 pm Sydney

04.50 – 05.35 pm Wellington

Trade Union and Human Rights in Asia-Pacific | Panel Discussion

  • Simrin Singh | Country Director, ILO Sri Lanka
  • Shoya Yoshida | General Secretary, ITUC Asia Pacific
  • Shum Wai Nam | Chief Executive, Hong Kong Professional Teachers’ Union
  • Prof. Prabhu Mohapatra | University of Delhi, India
  • Rosalia Fatiaki | General Secretary AUSPS, Fiji
  • Phon Sokrem | Cambodian Independent Teachers Association

10.05 – 10.15 am New Delhi

11.35 – 11.45 am Jakarta

12.35 – 12.45 pm Kuala Lumpur

01.35 – 01.45 pm Tokyo 

02.35 – 02.45 pm Sydney

05.35 – 05.45 pm Wellington

Teacher and Union Voices

10.15 – 10.50 am New Delhi

11.45 – 12.20 pm Jakarta

12.45 – 1.20 pm Kuala Lumpur

01.45 – 02.20 pm Tokyo 

02.45 – 03.20 pm Sydney

05.45 – 06.20 pm Wellington

Teaching through the Pandemic in South Asia |EI- UNESCO Delhi Panel Discussion

  • Anand Singh | Chief Regional Coordinator, Education International Asia Pacific
  • Mame Omar Diop | Programme Specialist and Chief of Section – Education, UNESCO Delhi
  • Prof. Pandma M Sarangpani | Professor, Tata Institute of Social Sciences, Mumbai India
  • Mr. Laxman Sharma | General Secretary, SAARC Teachers Federation, Nepal
  • Susan Hopgood | President, Education International

10.50 – 11.00 am New Delhi

12.20 – 12.30 pm Jakarta

01.20 – 01.30 pm Kuala Lumpur

02.20 – 02.30 pm Tokyo 

03.20 – 03.30 pm Sydney

05.20 – 06.30 pm Wellington

Teacher and Union Voices

11.00 am New Delhi

12.30 pm Jakarta

01.30 pm Kuala Lumpur 

02.30 pm Tokyo

03.30 pm Sydney

06.30 pm Wellington

Concluding Remarks from Asia-Pacific

Interlude

5.30 am – 9 am GMT

The Price of Free | Documentary

A Day in the Life of a Teacher | Documentary

African Teachers Take the Lead

09.00 – 09.50 am Accra/ Bamako/Dakar

10.00 – 10.50 am Abuja/Kinshasa

12.00 – 12.50 pm Addis Ababa/Nairobi

Welcome to Africa

  • Mugwena Maluleke | Host | General Secretary, South African Democratic Teachers Union
  • Marième Sakho Dansokho | Host | General Secretary, Teacher Trade Union of Senegal
  • Mariama Chipkaou | Vice-Chair, Education International Africa Regional Committee | SNEN, Niger
  • Union leaders in the region

09.50 – 10.15 am Accra/ Bamako/Dakar

10.50 – 11.15 am Abuja/Kinshasa

12.50 – 01.15 pm Addis Ababa/Nairobi

The Impact of Covid-19 on Education in Africa

  • Prof. Steve Nwokeocha | Emeritus Director of Professional Operations, Teachers Registration Council of Nigeria (Federal Ministry of Education)
  • Mugwena Maluleke | Host | General Secretary, South African Democratic Teachers Union

10.15 – 10.30 am Accra/ Bamako/Dakar

11.15 – 11.30 am Abuja/Kinshasa

01.15 – 01.30 pm Addis Ababa/Nairobi

Celebrating teachers

Messages from partner organisations

10.30 – 11.15 am Accra/ Bamako/Dakar

11.30 – 12.15 am Abuja/Kinshasa

01.30 – 02.15 pm Addis Ababa/Nairobi

The future we want

  • Macky Sall | President of Senegal
  • David Sengeh | Minister of Basic and Senior Secondary Education, Sierra Leone
  • Koumbou Boly Barry | Special Rapporteur on the right to education, United Nations Human Rights Council
  • Christian Addai-Poku | Chair, Education International Africa Regional Committee | NAGRAT, Ghana
  • Susan Hopgood | President, Education International

11.15 – 11.30 am Accra/ Bamako/Dakar

12.15 – 12.30 am Abuja/Kinshasa

02.15 – 02.30 pm Addis Ababa/Nairobi

Closing Remarks from Africa

Brussels Global Hub

01.30 – 01.45 pm Brussels

In the Teachers’ Lounge

  • Guy Ryder | Director General, International Labour Organization in conversation with
  • Gifty Apanbil |Deputy General Secretary, Ghana National Association of Teachers

Arab Teachers Take the Lead

12.45 – 12.55 pm Algiers/Casablanca/Tunis

01.45 – 01.55 am Cairo

02.45 – 02.55 am Amman/Beirut/Manama

Welcome to the Arab Countries

  • Manal Hdaife | Host | Vice-President, Public Primary Schools Teachers League, Lebanon
  • Hussein Boujarra | Chair, Education International Arab Countries Cross-Regional Structure Committee

12.55 – 01.00 pm Algiers/Casablanca/Tunis

01.55 – 02.00 am Cairo

02.55 – 03.00 am Amman/Beirut/Manama

The Impact of Covid-19 in Countries Affected by Armed Conflict

Yahya Al Yanae | Yemen Teachers Syndicate

01.00 – 02.35 pm Algiers/Casablanca/Tunis

02.00 – 03.35 am Cairo

03.00 – 04.35 am Amman/Beirut/Manama

The Covid-19 Crisis, its Impact on Education in Arab Countries, and the Way Forward

  • The importance of preparedness in dealing with a crisis
    Hanan Al Hroub | Teacher, Winner of the Global Teacher Prize 2016

  • The role of teachers in the crisis response
    Refaat Sabbah | President, Global Campaign for Education

  • Inclusive education and the contribution of teacher unions
    Hussein Jawad | General Secretary, Public Primary Schools Teachers League, Lebanon

  • Teachers taking the lead to provide distance emergency education
    Hanan Al Hroub | Teacher, Winner of the Global Teacher Prize 2016
    Mr Saed Erziqatt | General Secretary, General Union of Palestinian Teachers

  • Defending and financing quality public education
    Mr Younes Firachine | International Relations Officer, Syndicat National de l’Education, Morocco

  • Working with teachers to address the Covid-19 crisis and its impact on education
    Prof. Marwan Awartani | Minister of Education and Chairman of the Palestinian European Academic Cooperation Council

02.35 – 02.45 am Algiers/Casablanca/Tunis

03.35 – 03.45 am Cairo

04.35 – 04.45 am Amman/Beirut/Manama

Closing Remarks from the Arab Countries

Brussels Global Hub

03.45 – 04.00 pm Brussels

Celebrating the Teachers of the World

  • Refaat Sabbah | President, Global Campaign for Education
  • Hela Nefti | Member of the International Executive Council, iEARN
  • Patrick Gaspard | President, Open Society Foundations

European Teachers Take the Lead

03.00 – 03.05 pm Lisbon / London

04.00 – 04.05 pm Berlin / Paris / Brussels

05.00 – 05.05 pm Moscow

06.00 – 06.05 pm Tbilisi 

07.00 – 07.05 pm Tashkent

08.00 – 08.05 pm Nursultan

Welcome to Europe

  • Christine Blower | Host | President, European Trade Union Committee for Education
  • Christian Chevalier | Host | European and International Affairs Secretary, UNSA-Éducation, France
  • Süleyman Gelener | Host | Board Member, Cyprus Turkish Teachers Trade Union

03.05 – 03.10 pm Lisbon / London

04.05 – 04.10 pm Berlin / Paris / Brussels

05.05 – 05.10 pm Moscow

06.05 – 06.10 pm Tbilisi 

07.05 – 07.10 pm Tashkent

08.05 – 08.10 pm Nursultan

Celebrating Teachers

  • Erna Solberg | Prime Minister, Norway

03.10 – 03.15 pm Lisbon / London

04.10 – 04.15 pm Berlin / Paris / Brussels

05.10 – 05.15 pm Moscow

06.10 – 06.15 pm Tbilisi 

07.10 – 07.15 pm Tashkent

08.10 – 08.15 pm Nursultan

Teacher and Union Voices

03.15 – 03.30 pm Lisbon / London

04.15 – 04.30 pm Berlin / Paris / Brussels

05.15 – 05.30 pm Moscow

06.15 – 06.30 pm Tbilisi 

07.15 – 07.30 pm Tashkent

08.15 – 08.30 pm Nursultan

Data Protection and Privacy | Global Dialogue

  • Larry Flanagan| General Secretary, The Educational Institute of Scotland
  • Christina J. Colclough | Future of Work Expert

03.30 – 03.50 pm Lisbon / London

04.30 – 04.50 pm Berlin / Paris / Brussels

05.30 – 05.50 pm Moscow

06.30 – 06.50 pm Tbilisi 

07.30 – 07.50 pm Tashkent

08.30 – 08.50 pm Nursultan

Q&A with the World Health Organization

03.50 – 04.20 pm Lisbon / London

04.50 – 05.20 pm Berlin / Paris / Brussels

05.50 – 06.20 pm Moscow

06.50 – 07.20 pm Tbilisi 

07.50 – 08.20 pm Tashkent

08.50 – 09.20 pm Nursultan

Reopening Schools and Education Institutions | Global Dialogue

  • Andrew Jack | Moderator | Journalist, The Financial Times
  • Mary Bousted | Joint Secretary-General, National Education Union, United Kingdom
  • Randi Weingarten | President, American Federation of Teachers
  • Steffen Handal | President, Union of Education Norway

04.20 – 04.35 pm Lisbon / London

05.20 – 05.35 pm Berlin / Paris / Brussels

06.20 – 06.35 pm Moscow

07.20 – 07.35 pm Tbilisi 

08.20 – 08.35 pm Tashkent

09.20 – 09.35 pm Nursultan

In the Teachers’ Lounge

  • Andreas Schleicher | Director for the Directorate of Education and Skills, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) in conversation with
  • Andria Zafirakou | Teacher, Winner of the Global Teacher Prize 2018

04.35 – 05.00 pm Lisbon / London

05.35 – 06.00 pm Berlin / Paris / Brussels

06.35 – 07.00 pm Moscow

07.35 – 08.00 pm Tbilisi 

08.35 – 09.00 pm Tashkent

09.35 – 10.00 pm Nursultan

Education for climate action

  • Koen Timmers | Educator and researcher, Global Teacher Prize 2017 & 2018 finalist, Project Kakuma
  • Jane Goodall | Primatologist and anthropologist, Jane Goodall Institute

05.00 – 05.15 pm Lisbon / London

06.00 – 06.15 pm Berlin / Paris / Brussels

07.00 – 07.15 pm Moscow

08.00 – 08.15 pm Tbilisi 

09.00 – 09.15 pm Tashkent

10.00 – 10.15 pm Nursultan

In the Teachers’ Lounge

  • Sharan Burrow | General Secretary, International Trade Union Confederation in conversation with
  • David Edwards | General Secretary, Education International 

05.15 – 05.35 pm Lisbon / London

06.15 – 06.35 pm Berlin / Paris / Brussels

07.15 – 07.35 pm Moscow

08.15 – 08.35 pm Tbilisi 

09.15 – 09.35 pm Tashkent

10.15 – 10.35 pm Nursultan

Organising and Union Renewal in Times of Covid-19

  • Jelmer Evers | Vice-President, AOB, Netherlands
  • Jane McAlevey | Author of No Shortcuts, United States
  • Jon Hegerty | National Learning Officer, National Education Union, United Kingdom

05.35 – 05.55 pm Lisbon / London

06.35 – 06.55 pm Berlin / Paris / Brussels

07.35 – 07.55 pm Moscow

08.35 – 08.55 pm Tbilisi 

09.35 – 09.55 pm Tashkent

10.35 – 10.55 pm Nursultan

Racial Justice in Times of Covid-19

  • Sree Sreenivasan | Moderator | Professor, Stony Brook University and CEO, Digimentors 
  • Michelle Codrington-Rogers | President, NASUWT, United Kingdom
  • Becky Pringle | President, National Education Association, United States

05.55 – 06.00 pm Lisbon / London

06.55 – 07.00 pm Berlin / Paris / Brussels

07.55 – 08.00 pm Moscow

08.55 – 09.00 pm Tbilisi 

09.55 – 10.00 pm Tashkent

10.55 – 11.00 pm Nursultan

Closing Remarks from Europe

European Teachers Take the Lead

11.00 – 11.10 am Central America

12.00 – 12.10 pm Panamá / Lima / Quito / Bogotá.

01.00 – 01.10 pm Santo Domingo / Asunción

02.00 – 02.10 pm Brasilia / Buenos Aires / Santiago de Chile

Welcome to Latin America

  • Gabriella Bonilla | Host | Researcher at the Latin American Observatory of Educational Policies
  • Sonia Alesso | Chairperson, Education International Latin America EXBO Member, CTERA, Argentina

11.10 – 11.30 am Central America

12.10 – 12.30 pm Panamá / Lima / Quito / Bogotá.

01.10 – 01.30 pm Santo Domingo / Asunción

02.10 – 02.30 pm Brasilia / Buenos Aires / Santiago de Chile 

Teacher and Union voices 

11.30 – 11.50 am Central America

12.30 – 12.50 pm Panamá / Lima / Quito / Bogotá.

01.30 – 01.50 pm Santo Domingo / Asunción

02.30 – 02.50 pm Brasilia / Buenos Aires / Santiago de Chile

In the Teachers’ Lounge

  • Alberto Fernández | President of Argentina in conversation with
  • Hugo Yasky | Chairperson, Education International Latin America Regional Committee, CTERA, Argentina
  • David Edwards | General Secretary, Education International

11.50 am – 12.30 pm Central America

12.50 – 01.30 pm Panamá / Lima / Quito / Bogotá.

01.50 – 02.30 pm Santo Domingo / Asunción

02.50 – 03.30 pm Brasilia / Buenos Aires / Santiago de Chile

Teacher and Union voices

12.30 – 01.00 pm Central America

01.30 – 02.00 pm Panamá / Lima / Quito / Bogotá.

02.30 – 03.00 pm Santo Domingo / Asunción

03.30 – 04.00 pm Brasilia / Buenos Aires / Santiago de Chile

Teaching through the pandemic: the experience of teachers in Latin America | Panel Discussion

01.00 – 02.00 pm Central America

02.00 – 03.00 pm Panamá / Lima / Quito / Bogotá.

03.00 – 04.00 pm Santo Domingo / Asunción

04.00 – 05.00 pm Brasilia / Buenos Aires / Santiago de Chile

Teacher and Union voices

02.00 – 02.10 pm Central America

03.00 – 03.10 pm Panamá / Lima / Quito / Bogotá.

04.00 – 04.10 pm Santo Domingo / Asunción

05.00 – 05.10 pm Brasilia / Buenos Aires / Santiago de Chile

Closing Remarks from Latin America

  • Roberto Trochez | Chairperson, Education International Latin America EXBO Member, Colprosumah, Honduras

Brussels Global Hub

10.10 – 10.15 pm Brussels Teacher voices
10.15 – 10.30 pm Brussels

In the Teachers’ Lounge

  • Sharan Burrow | General Secretary, International Trade Union Confederation in conversation with
  • David Edwards | General Secretary, Education International

North American and Caribbean Teachers Take the Lead

01:30 – 01:40 pm Los Angeles / Vancouver

02:30 – 02:40 pm Calgary/Denver

03:30 – 03:40 pm Chicago/Kingston/Mexico City

04.30 – 04.40 pm New York / Port au Prince / Quebec

Welcome to North America and the Caribbean 

  • Lily Eskelsen-García | Host | Vice-President, Education International, United States
  • Nadine A. Molloy | Host | Executive Board Member, Education International, Jamaica

01:40 – 02:30 pm Los Angeles / Vancouver

02:40 – 03:30 pm Calgary/Denver

03.40 – 04.30 pm Chicago/Kingston/Mexico City

04.40 – 05.30 pm New York / Port au Prince / Quebec

Mexico: Education during the pandemic and beyond

  • The role of schools
  • Teachers’ work during the pandemic
  • The impact of Covid-19 in education
  • The role of education unions
  • Our challenges and achievements

02:30 – 04.10 pm Los Angeles / Vancouver

03:30 – 05.10 pm Calgary/Denver

04.30 – 06.10 pm Chicago/Kingston/Mexico City

05.30 – 07.10 pm New York / Port au Prince / Quebec

United States: Teachers, Education, Democracy

  • Celebrating teachers
  • Cross-border migration, children, education | Round table
  • Teachers defending democracy
  • Teacher-led technology

04.10 – 04.50 pm Los Angeles / Vancouver

05.10 – 05.50 pm Calgary/Denver

06.10 – 06.50 pm Chicago/Kingston/Mexico City

07.10 – 07.50 pm New York / Port au Prince / Quebec

The Caribbean: Solidarity in times of crisis

  • Celebrating teachers
  • Overcoming natural disasters and global pandemics | Round Table

04.50 – 05.30 pm Los Angeles / Vancouver

05.50 – 06.30 pm Calgary/Denver

06.50 – 07.30 pm Chicago/Kingston/Mexico City

07.50 – 08.30 pm New York / Port au Prince / Quebec

Canada: resilience, persistence, and professionalism

  • Teacher wellbeing amidst a pandemic | Global dialogue
  • Balancing work & life at home in times of Covid-19 | Global Pandemic 

05.30 pm Los Angeles / Vancouver

06.30 pm Calgary/Denver

07.30 pm Chicago/Kingston/Mexico City

08.30 pm New York / Port au Prince / Quebec

Concluding Remarks from North America and the Caribbean 

Brussels Global Hub

02.30 am (Oct 6th) Brussels

Takeaways from our World Teachers’ Day tour around the world

Susan Hopgood | President, Education International

David Edwards | General Secretary, Education International